Glorious

BALI

Not the best fishing weather in the world but what a day,  really fantastic weather, Ray has been planning to take up fishing for some time, but as usual work gets in the way, so when we meet up he said he would like to start from the beginning and try and get it right from the start, so all the usual stuff safety, the gear, how to put it together, stance  how to hold the rod and the two basic casts, Ray picked up the roll cast really quickly and was amazed how little effort it took, he was also very surprised how easy it is to cast off both right and left shoulder, after a quick drink we moved onto overhead cast, Ray had been doing a little practising in his garden, but again a little too much effort to start and no Stops in the cast, once I explained every thing and it clicked in his own head the basic overhead cast was going really well, we had a play with shooting line and also they worked really well, which is nice for me as it makes my job easy.

What Ray had to say about his day.

Andrew
Thank you for two very interesting days on the river at Caersws. My expectations were totally met and I now realise how much I have learned. Thank you for your patience. Starting from the beginning was extremely helpful and what was particularly useful was knowing what happened when casting did not go according to plan. Knowing why and what corrective action was required was enormously helpful. The two days also exposed some of the bad practices I had picked up from another teacher.
I now feel confident to try out all that I’ve learned on my local stretch of the River Wye later this week.
Thank you again
Best regards
Ray

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a comment