Interesting Day

paul5

Had a call from Paul who said he had been fishing for 2 years and only caught 4 fish, well I thought to myself that I should be able to sort that out no problem at all, so we meet up had a good talk about his fishing and he said he really struggled with nymphing so we started with that, the main key things to think of are presentation and bite detection, I set him up with 3 nymphs and away we went with in around ten casts he had caught a fish and lost one and this was just the practise area and not the part of the water I thought would hold more fish.

paul4

It seemed a little strange as the better looking water was a lot quitter than the practise area, I thought something was not quite right, so I thought I would increase the weight of the point fly and bingo the fish started coming thick and fast both trout and grayling coming mainly to the point fly and the middle dropper.

paul1

We stopped for a short while for some lunch, while we sat there I could see a few fish moving on the top so I asked Paul if he fancied learning about down stream dry fly fishing, he hadn’t ever heard of fishing a dry down stream he thought you can only fish a dry up stream on a tight line, I explained that the advantage with a down stream dry is the first thing the fish sees is the fly.

paul3

We spent the last hour of the day fishing a dry and Paul caught another 3-4 fish so all in all he had caught in one session  one hell of a lot more fish than he had caught in the last 2 years, he had also caught on a rod that he had never caught a fish on before, so lots of fish caught and also lots of fishing techniques learned.

paul

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a comment