At Long Last !!

20161013_101054-1.jpg

Well at long last I managed a day of fishing for myself, as I  have seen quite a lot of my local rivers I thought I would go  further a field so off I went to have a look at the upper Wye, the river was looking lovely but with little surface activity, so French leader on with three 3mm bead head nymphs, the run I fished had quite a lot of overhanging trees so a little caution was required to my surprise third cast a small trout,  a handful more casts a rather nice trout but not what I wanted to catch, then another and another I was starting to get a little disheartened with all the trout, if it had been the middle of the trout season it would of been fantastic, so I kept plugging away and finally a small grayling taking the middle dropper a olive nymph,  as I moved down the run a little further the braid indicator paused and yes I had something a little larger on and it’s a grayling in the fast water it gave a good account of it’s self which was brilliant for me after seeing so many clients playing and landing fish it was my turn for the heart rate to increase.

As the day went on I had a good mix of trout and grayling, the grayling weren’t the largest fish I’ve seen but in lovely condition and not bad for my first outing, the one surprise I did have was there was a lovely looking run under a overhanging tree as the nymphs swung under the branches the indicator stopped and all hell broke loose a huge browny going nuts, I thought I felt the hook pull but the fish was still on and then bang it had gone, I think the hook did pull then the point fly might of foul hooked him then he broke that fly off, lovey fish but out of season so I wouldn’t mind bumping into him next year.

20161013_100406-1

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

