Seeing Double

20160802_150402

Oli came for a days fishing on the rivers of Wales, it was a bit of a deja vu moment as the week before I had Toby Oli’s identical twin fishing with me, also with Oli was his wife Joanie who had never picked up a fly rod, so the day started off going through the basics of casting while Oli fished on his own, which for the first part of the day wasn’t going to well, once Joanie started fishing I could give Oli some attention there was next to nothing moving on the surface so I thought my choice of nymph fishing was the way to go but watching Oli fish there wasn’t anything I could see he was really doing wrong, so I thought it was time for a change so we tried a dry caddis I wasn’t really 100% sure if it would work but they certainly didn’t want a nymph, three cast later a fish came up and smashed the caddis, then another and the grayling wanted to play as well, nothing really rising but the good old caddis never seems to fail.

Toby Oli’s Twin

20160728_104401-1

 

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

