Trying To Beat The rain

BALI

Well more rain forecast so I thought I would have a quick couple of hours down the river, the only one thing I hadn’t taken in to consideration was the gale that was blowing, mind the river looked good so lets get on with it, I tried a French leader and it was a waste of time bite detection was non existent, so on with a sight indicator, the wind was so strong at times it was even lifting the leader and indicator off the water, in the first 20 minutes I caught three small fish, but I think I missed a lot of subtle bites, I thought of going straight back home but if the rain does come it might be a long time before the river is right again, as I got into a deeper part of the run the indicator stuttered and dipped, this time a slightly better fish which was nice to feel charging about on the end of my line, but the weather was really against me, so I carried on for another half hour and headed for home, a shame but good to have a couple of hours after the poor winters fishing

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

