Gales & Good Company

BALI

It was a very poor weather forecast on Saturday so I thought I would go out for a play before the worst of the weather arrived, to start off with it wasn’t to windy and the sky looked quite clear so not as bad as I thought it was going to be, I thought I would be better off fishing Duo as the breeze would spoil all the bite detection on the French leader, under my dry I put on a claret bug and a uv collar hares ear, in the first run which was quite slow moving  I cast the flies around 10 yards up in front of me in a fan cast to cover all the water, the dry slowed a little, as I lifted the rod a small trout had taken the claret bug nice to catch quickly but small trout tend to thrash about and trash your leader, so I played it quickly and all was well, no tangles, a strange thing happened a couple of trout came flying around 2′ out of the water and there was no fly life in the air or on the water, to my right another trout came flying out of the water I cast my flies towards it and bang it was on, this time around a pound and a quarter, I carried on up the run another fish this time a nice grayling and three casts later the grayling in the picture, I fished several more runs with a mixture of results, by now the wind was getting stronger and stronger I thought I would head off down stream and possible home, then I bumped into my good mate and super fisherman Kieron who was helping a friend of his to break his PB grayling, it was only a half pounder so wouldn’t be to hard, made my day watching good fisherman at work, chatting and swapping ideas and flies.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

