Hard Work

BALI

BALI

A lovely sunny day on the rivers of Wales today, it was quite a tough days fishing as the fish weren’t where you think they would of been, so a lot of searching was the order of the day, I only fished 3 runs in total, in the first run and on the first cast bang a trout, which trashed my leader with all the jumping through the air, so mumbling to my self “keep calm as it looks like it’s going to be a good day*, I re tackled up and off to go again, I fished the whole run and not another touch that seemed really strange, so off to the next run and guess what again nothing,  this isn’t going to be as good of a  day as  I had first thought.

I walked back past the two runs I had fished and thought there has to be fish around there was  2 weeks a go and a lot of them, there has been several floods since then but the fish usually don’t move that far, it was around 2pm so should I go or stay, well I’m here and let just try one more run, I was so glad I did, a large over hanging tree with a deep run under it and bingo first cast a good grayling, second cast a 47cm grayling, then a couple of trout, as the deep water tailed off I picked up several more grayling around the 44-45cm range, the run now was around 18” deep and as I looked you could see a large rock underneath the water and what I would swear was a fish behind it, I flicked the bugs out and past the rock nothing, I increased my leader around six inches at a time trying to put the bugs straight into the fishes face on around the fifth attempt the line stopped and yes I was right it was a fish and a good grayling which gave me the best fight of the day in the shallow fast flowing water again around the 45 cm mark, but this fish was the best fish of the day as I has seen it, stalked it and also caught it, well chuffed

BALI

BALI.

BALI

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

