Lovely When It All Comes Together

I was asked by David if I could show him how to tie a few flies as he had never tried it before, to me you’re a real fly fisherman when your using your own flies so I was only to pleased to help, I got all the gear together to make a couple of basic flies, I explained about the different styles of vices you can get and the amazing differences in ££££££ you can pay, the various tools, , bobbin holders, scissors and the to someone who hasn’t used one before the dreaded whip finish tool.

To start off I showed David how to make a basic bead head nymph, this taught Davis how to tie his thread on, how to tie a tail in and how to make the body in tread in touching turns and also how to rib the body, then we made a fly similar only with a dubbed body, then we moved onto a couple of dries, to start of with we made a basic F fly, thread body and then how to pinch and loop the thread so that it hold the three cdc feathers in on top of the hook, then we made a Grey Duster, this time it incorporated a tail, dubbed body and then how to hackle a dry fly, to be fair David picked it all up really well even by the end the whip finishing wasn’t a problem.

The best bit of all was around three hours later I had a text message saying  ” I’m hooked now mate 5 cast, 2 fish came up but didn’t take the fly, then 2 grayling around the pound mark on the cdc fly you showed me”

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

