More Dry Fly Fishing

BALI

More playing for me this morning before I have to sit at my vice and start re filling my fly boxes, they have had a bit of a hiding with all the guiding I’ve been doing, D wanted to catch minnows so I thought I would see if I could catch as many nice grayling as I did yesterday when I was on my own, I couldn’t but I could catch just as many trout and some quite nice ones as well.

We walked a long way down stream and nothing seemed to be moving bar for goosanders, so I thought it would be a nymph sort of day , but down stream around 50 yards under an ash tree I saw two fish rise as we sat and watched a few more fished moved on the surface, hmm dries it is then I thought as the tree is overhanging the water with only a 18″ gap I thought I would approach it with a down stream dry so the fly could drift underneath the overhanging branches first cast I’m into a nice fish and it’s going crazy, to start of with it took around 20 yards of line I haven’t had my reel scream like that in a while, it’s a fantastic feeling, the fight seemed to go on for ages but the fish was landed and photographed and back in the water in seconds,

I thought as this fish had gone ballistic the other fish would have spooked, but no they are still rising so around ten cast latter another trout, then another one and another , then a couple of grayling, I had by now worked my way around 20 yards past the tree and things seemed to slowed down a little, but as I stood and watched the water a fish rose right under the tree and very close to the bank, so I carefully moved to a position where I could cast and let the fly drift under the branches, straight a way a fish came up and it was on, again another nice trout, it seemed strange as it took off from under the tree and went straight across the river and into the vegetation on the other side of the river, trying to tangle it’s self up and shake the hook loose, but he didn’t and he was mine another real nice brownie.

D was a little feed up by now and wanted bacon butties so we wander back up the river for some lunch.

BALI

BALI

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

