Dries All The Way

BALI

A day to my self today so I was out early, to be honest I thought it was to early as it was foggy and quite cold, I thought I would venture around 10 miles down stream from home for a change, when I got to the water it looked a little un inspiring, I thought I should have waited for things to warm up a little, well I’m here now and it looked as if nymphs would be the order of the day, I set up with a trio rig and started making my way up a run, after a handful of casts a fish came up to the dry but didn’t connect, on the next run through the dry disappeared and a good fish was on, a nice grayling around 43cm a good start to the day I thought, two casts latter a fish came to the dry again, this time it was on, this fished felt really heavy, it wasn’t that big around 40cm but there was a 42cm grayling on the nymph as well, things are looking up, by now there seemed to be fish rising a little more regularly so I swapped over to just a dry, it was definitely the right  way to go, it seemed like a fish every 10 minutes, as I worked my way up a lovely looking run I could see fish rising behind a snag  on the far bank, as I flicked the dry up the run up came a fish and it was on and wasn’t happy it flew out of the water which you would normally think it to be a trout but it was another grayling, this time 47cm, then another 43cm and a couple of small trout, I wanted to stay all day but as always my day’s off tend to have a lot of other things in them, so I called it a day and went home feeling really good.

BALI

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

One response to “Dries All The Way

Leave a Reply

