Quick Play

BALI

I had nothing to do this morning, well I don’t suppose my wife would agree with that but I fancied going somewhere to fish for a couple of hours, I was really shocked at how low the upper Wye is in places a trickle, to be honest it didn’t look very inspiring, as I worked my way up the first run with out a touch I thought I might be wasting my time, so I moved upstream to another run and yet again nothing, so I moved to what looked a deeper run with a big rock in the middle of it, the water looked around three foot deep casting up stream around the rock a fish was on at last, it was going really well and a nice grayling was thrashing around the pool, after landing it and seeing it on its way I started fishing around the rock again two cast latter a nice trout leapt out of the water attached to my fly, things are looking up I thought, even better another nice grayling only this time with a really nasty gash around its tail, all had gone quiet in this run so again time to move the next two runs provided no fish, the next run was very narrow but with good depth and weed on the bottom, first pass through the run and a fish exploded up at the dry but didn’t make contact, another couple of cast and the dry just seemed to break the surface and disappear, as I lifted a very good fish was on, another good grayling which did give a good account of his self, I did have to hold him for some time to recover before he swam away, time was getting on and I had other things to be getting on with but just as I was going to pack up a fish took an olive between to pieces of weed, so one more cast and one more cast was all it took a nice little brown took the dry.

BALI

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

