As Smooth As Silk

BALI

I had some of Terenzio’s new weight forward (WF ) and arrow taper (AT) silk fly lines to try on Saturday morning, but as I was busy all weekend, I didn’t have time to try them, so today it was time to give the WF a try, I greased it up and put it on a reel, the real nice thing about silk lines is there thinner than normal plastic lines so they land more delicately and can cut through the wind easier, some  people think me a little strange as I love it when you open a silk fly up, the smell is amazing.

Off to a small stream near to me to see how it performs, the one thing you notice with a new silk line is it’s a little noisy when it goes through the rod rings, but the more you use it the better it becomes, a few practise cast and the line felt lovely, I used my Orvis Access 10′  4# and the line matched the rod spot on, I fished for around 2-3 hours and caught quite a few fish, the thing that really stood out was how delicately the line landed on the water and also when you lifted the line off the water there was very little disturbance at all, I can see this line being a very good line in my armoury, mind I have got the AT to try yet.

BALI

Quick pic to show you the difference in diameter of the belly of a normal 4# line and a Terenzio pure silk 4# weight forward fly line, I will get a micrometer or vernier on to get an exact dimension when I have 5 minutes.

BALI

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

