April More Like January

BALI

I took Grant out today and what a day it was, a lovely summers day indeed, when I got up and looked towards the east I should have seen the sun rising, instead it was a very grey heavy looking, it looked just like snow and as we meet up in the car park there was some snow blowing around it the very strong, very  very cold wind, not ideal by any stretch of the imagination.

We started off going over the roll and over head casts, it was quite challenging in the strong wind but Grant managed very well and also mastering the cast off both shoulders and even got the basics of the double haul working quite well, after a drink and something to eat, we moved onto the fishing side of things, I wasn’t feeling that cold but when I went to make up a leader my fingers wouldn’t work as they should, as it was so cold nymphs were the order of the day, as we worked our way into a run it looked as it might be a little kinder to us as it was sheltered from the wind, the one down side was it was waist deep in freezing water, quick demo and away went Grant, he picked everything quickly, the casting, spotting takes and after 2 on and off’s how to catch a fish, a small grayling but Grants first ever river fish, then another couple of fish were on and gone, bingo another fish was landed, by now Grant said he was numb from the waist down and would call it a day, Grant had done really well considering what the weather was like.

BALI

Grants thoughts on his day Just about thawed outAndrew, you were an amazing guide, thank you so much, learned so much, so much practice to do, you were very patient too, I know I’m challenging as far as coordination goes! I don’t think I’ve ever been so cold! But I did catch, and that’s what counts!

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

