Fulling Mill Jig Force Black Nickle Hooks

jh

I’ve been trying some Fulling Mill jig force black nickle hooks, I received them in sizes 12, 14 & 16’s I’m no hook expert but I know what I like and don’t like when tying flies and fishing with them, taking them out of the packet their super sharp and with a nice gape the  bead doesn’t mask the hook point like some that I have had in the past, the one real thing that stood out is the size of the bend to the hook eye and the length of it, you can put quite large beads on small hooks, so you can fish with a nice small fly that still has some weight to it.

I have fished with them several times now and the hook ups while fishing seem to be good, mind you do get good and bad days with hook ups so only time will tell, also when they do get snagged on the bottom in rocks etc the point of the hook copes well and stays sharp, un like some that I have had that after getting stuck had totally burred  the point and you had to get the hook sharpener out, a real pain on a hard day when the fish are hard to catch and you haven’t realised the point is blunt and then you lose the fish of the day, I haven’t had any problems with the strength of the hooks, no straightening or snapping of the hooks, a friend of mine while we fished to gether on Monday had a few of his jig hooks  break off at the bend.

When I have a little more time I will post up some pics of the flies I have tied on the hooks.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

