Cold Wind & Loads Of Grayling

Went over the river Vyrnwy this morning the rivers are still up and down like a yoyo, which is a real shame as it’s half term and my son wanted to get out there and have a go, bit of a shame for him today as he was off to my mother in laws for the day and the rivers had dropped a little over night, so I was off like a shot first thing, as I got to the river it had dropped back well and there wasn’t too much colour in the water, the only small fly in the ointment was a strong and very cold wind blowing, so I went with a duo method, large dry and two nymphs underneath it, in the first run it had a lovely constant depth with a good flow, casting the flies up stream the dry was coming back towards me very nicely. then disappeared, my first thought was the nymphs are to heavy, but always lift as if there is a fish on the end as you never know, bingo this time there was a fish on, only small but a fish, I let him go and carried on fishing up the run and another fish and another, there seemed to be a feeding frenzy going on it was non stop, fish after fish coming to both the nymphs, after around an hour I swapped the nymphs for a couple of different ones and the fish kept coming, after around 3 hours I would guess I caught around 50 fish, mainly in the half to three quarters of a pound mark and the odd bigger ones, an amazing day same D wasn’t with me he would have loved it and been good practise for him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

