A Bit Of A Suprise

Went out for an hour at dinner time, there was supposed to be a lot of rain over Wales today but it had just been drizzling, so I thought I would have a go and see if I could find a big grayling, as I arrived at the river it was still slightly coloured not perfect but worth a go, in the first run I caught 4 grayling and 3 trout and by the look of it the river was getting more coloured, moving down to the next run it had a nice fast flow into a deeper glide, at the top of the run there were quite a few grayling, but as the water got deeper the takes seemed to dry up, watching the indicator on the French nymphing leader it very slowly stopped/stuttered, I lifted to the rod tip up and you could feel a dogged  throbbing, this felt like a really good grayling and staying deep for quite some time I would have sworn it was a grayling then all hell broke loose, it took quite sometime before I even saw what I had on the end of my line, it had taken the black jig on the point and 3.5 lb tippet so I was suprised it was still on, as I got the fish to me I thought I could just slip the hook out and let him go, then he rolled several times and tangled the droppers around his head, a couple of more runs and I manged to get him in my net and un tangle the mess from around his head, quick pic and back in the river, he swam off really quickly and strongly, I don’t think I was playing the fish very long but the river had coloured quite badly, I did carry on for about twenty minutes but the river had died and I didn’t have another touch.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

