I Couldn’t Take It Any Longer

Well it’s been rain, rain and more rain, the rivers have been really high and coloured for weeks, I think it has been around three weeks since the last time I wetted a line, so today the rivers were all high but the Wye was running clear, so I thought I would give it a go, the normal slow glides were running really quickly, so on went some heavy bugs for a little bit of Czech nymphing, third cast I hooked into a really nice trout it stripped line of the reel and slipped the hook in the fast flow, ten minutes later I was into another fish, what I thought was a nice fish, but when I landed it was a grayling of around a pound, in the flow it seemed at least twice that size, as I carried on down the run the leader stopped and I lifted the rod to set the hook and all hell broke loose, I would have thought it was a salmon, but it wasn’t it was a grayling, reel screaming, me shaking I manged to get it out of the flow and into calmer water and a few minutes latter in the net, that was really exciting and after a number of weeks of no fishing I could see what I had being missing, by the end of the run I was fishing I had lost another three fish and landed four more, in the flow it was amazing fishing if a little frustrating with the fish that slipped off the hook, all I need now is the rain to keep away and let me get back in the swing of things.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

