Five Minutes To My Self

Had some time to myself today so thought I would have a little play on the upper Wye, the day started sunny, dry and quite calm, but after around twenty minutes of fishing the wind started to get up and blow really hard. I thought I wouldstart of fishing with a dry and a nymph,with  the nymph taking most of the fish, something around 7 – 8 browns and the odd fish having a go at the dry, it was quite hard to see any fish rising the way the wind was whipping up the water, but you could hear fish moving, so I swapped to a size 16 small olive cdc shuttlecock buzzer, this was really hard to see on the water, but not when a fish came for it, they really nailed it with a real big splash, there was no mistaking that they really liked this fly, in the couple of hours I had free I caught around 12 trout and only 3 smallish grayling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

