Forecasters Got It Wrong Again.

Well looking at this mornings forecast it was going to rain yet again, so I thought I would get on with some work at home, D kept asking can we go down the river for a fish and I though as soon as we get ready to go the rain will start to pour, after lunch it still didn’t look like rain so off we went for an hour, D had caught a nice grayling on the nymph the last time we had been out so he wanted to start with nymph fishing, the river was quite stained, not dramatically¬†coloured but a very dark tea colour, as we hadn’t seen any fish rising it looked the way to go, I watched him fish for around 20 minutes and nothing came to his fly, so he wanted to change to a dry, so I swapped him over and thought it was time for me to have a go, there wasn’t anything rising but I thought I would try a very small dry, I had a few smallish fish and I thought it wasn’t looking a great day, but with the sun shinning and really warm it was fantastic to be by the river, then I saw a very small rise in very shallow water, might as well put the dry over it to see what it is, small grayling or a small trout, grayling yes , small no, a nice 46cm fish on a size 22 dry I was very happy and told D to try harder and one day you will be as good as dad !!!

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

