And Another First For Me !!

Well I have caught a lot of fish over the years and even a bat late one evening, but this was a first for me, I went out for a couple of hours to a very high mountain lake the forecast said it was going to be light winds and warm, Wrong a gale blowing and it was quite cold, I started with some nymphs and caught a few fish but really wanted fish on the top, putting one of my little sedges on I started moving down the bank, the wind seemed to be getting worse and was making it hard to see the dry, the wind dropped and I put out a cast and it went where I wanted it to instead of being driven by the wind, I watched the line go out just as the  fly was going to turn over a swift/swallow swooped dawn and took the sedge, my first thought was ” You Fool ” but then I was more concerned about her safety, well if you can call it playimg it in and managed to get hold of it luckily the hook hadn’t stuck in the bird but she had got wrapped up in the line, carefully I untangled her and opened my hand and off she flew, phew thank god for that if she been hurt it would have ruined my day, forgot to weigh her could have been a personal best or british record !!

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a comment