Good job Fish can’t Read.

Had a days guiding booked today only the people who booked me didn’t want to have their day in the rain, when I got up there was no rain and no wind fantastic I thought , I let them know everything was looking good only we would have to go upstream as the river was carrying colour, only to be told they didn’t want to do the day and keep the money, well as my day was paid for I did a few jobs that had been neglected and thought I would have a walk down the river and try a few new nymphs in the coloured water, as I set up a French Nymphing  rig a fish came to the surface to take a fly, then another  and another, the river was quite coloured and not what you would have thought of as a dry fly day, coiling the leader back onto my Orvis rig winder and putting on a long dry fly leader with a tiny sedge pattern I couldn’t see anything coming off the water but fish kept rising in around 45 minutes I caught 16 grayling but no trout, if you had just looked at the river you would have thought a dry would be a waste of time ( mind it didn’t look great for nymphs either ), but the fish didn’t agree, good job they can’t read the fishing books that we do !!

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

