Warmest Temps In March For Years, But Not Where I Was !!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The weather forecasters keep saying how warm it is for early March, well in the upper Severn valley this morning  they had it really wrong, it was freezing, as I wondered along the river, there wasn’t much sign of life, the river looked dead, no insect life and not that many birds in the air, it really did seem as if I would have been better off getting on with something else, any how I was here so I might as well have a go, I only really had an hour so I thought I would concentrate on one run and see what I could catch, tackled up French style and after around 10 casts a very angry trout decided to get air bourne, which I thought would totally spook all the fish in the run, it did go quiet for around 8-10 minutes and then the indicator stopped again, this time a small grayling around 3/4lb, the run tailed off and got deeper with hardly any flow, I hate fishing really slow water, but this time a good result the indicator hardly moved, just a sort of a stutter, when I lifted the rod it felt a really good fish, when it came to the net it was a grayling of 45 cm, time was up and I was surprised how cold my hands are so time to head home, one trout and six grayling, so not to bad for a poor looking day.

About andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems. View all posts by andrewcartwright123

Leave a Reply

